top of page

Sprint-6


For this weeks retrospective blog, a lot of the final touches were done. We were able to get our code officially working on all of our computers. We also started working on our final presentation and getting things working on everyone's end.

The last sprint we had all of the components only working on Dans computer but it was not on a branch. So what we decided to do was to copy all of the code that we had and put it on my computer. I had created a new branch by typing into the terminal ‘git checkout -b Tabs2’. In this new branch we would put all of the code that Dan had working on his computer. When we moved the code over, we realized though that the code was not working. It took us a lot of the time period to figure this out and even after class on our own time til we had this fixed. The biggest issue that we had was that there were dependency statement that's we were missing. Since I had the code on my end it was my responsibility to fix the code and get it running again. The first thing that I did was look at Dan’s old code that he had done on the Tabs branch that we had originally created. When i looked at the json.package file that we had on the old code, I realized that there were some dependencies that I was missing and different versions. I changed mine to look exactly what Dan’s had looked like. I also realized that in the ampath html file I had something different than what dan had. A lot of these problems I was able to find when I would go into the application, right click and inspect the page. After the application was finally working again, I committed the changes into the new Tabs2 branch. From there since I had time I also added some other form fields that I thought would be fun to add. I added a selection of genders for one of the fields, an email where it will tell you if it doesn’t accept a full email and a date where you can choose from a calendar animation.

After we were able to get all of the components working I pushed up the changes again for everyone to see. From there everyone in the group was able to re clone the project and get the code on all four of our computers. Dan and Sam had found some errors in the code and was able to fix them too. There were some lines that were not in the right place so they were able to move them over into the right spots and get it officially working on their computers.

Since all of the code was finally working we decided to work on our slides and figure out who was working on what. Sam did a rough draft and we decided the sections we would talk about were, the outline, the whole layout of the application, important pieces of the code, major changes that were made, problems encountered (technical and non technical), lessons learned, pointers for future projects and resources. We decided that Ryan would do the explaining of our project as a whole and what our final application looked like. Dan would do all of the major changes that were made to the code, I would do the problems encountered and Sam would do lessons learned what we would do differently. We also talked about how long we would take for each section of the presentation and polished up the slides.

bottom of page