top of page

Read Constantly


My last blog post for this year will be on the Apprenticeship Pattern ‘Read Constantly’. I felt that this is an area that I need to work on a lot. I was never big on reading growing up, but as I have gotten older, the more I enjoy reading and having some time to read. While I do like reading more as an adult, I am very picky about what I read. I have an even harder time reading things that are assigned to me from school. Especially those that pertain to my major. This pattern emphasized focusing a lot of my thirst for knowledge on the reading material with books instead of blogs. I think that there are some great books out there but personally I have found it very hard to find those that fit best for me. Especially when it comes to the books that are assigned to me for school, I find that they are just very boring. Understanding programming can be really hard and when there is even hard vocabulary that I need to keep looking up that do not even pertain to the information, I find that very unnecessary. I think that as a student it is also very hard to find reading material that does not have anything to do with what I am learning at the moment. If I don’t have time for pleasure reading, I definitely do not have time for learning reading. They also mentioned articles and I think those are extremely important to keep up to date with. Technology as I have said before is changing all of the time and I need to keep up to date with all of that. Staying up to date will make me a better employee in the future. I would like to find books that more up my alley and more of my pace. Books are so useful and I feel as though they really help improve my vocabulary and writing. While on the topic of books I would also just like to point out what a pleasure reading this book was so far. I loved that is was not your typical programming book. With a bunch of code and then information about it. It talked about topics that are not spoken about much when it comes to programming and starting work. The only thing I would have changed was that I would have sourced many more female programming and people in general. I felt that on my journey of reading this, it was heavily male based. Even with quotes that could have been said by a women. Especially now that the COmputer Science field is opening up more, I would have liked to hear from more female programmers. Other than that, I highly recommend this book and the number of patterns it describes.

bottom of page