top of page

Breakable Toys


‘Breakable Toys’ was the title of the Apprenticeship Pattern I decided to write about today. This pattern in a summary is pretty much about success being built on failures. This idea is something that has taken a lot for me to fully understand and even now I still have a hard time understanding it. I have always been bad at school and it seemed like even when I was failing it seemed like it never went anywhere. I had just a bunch of failures stacked on top of each other with no successes. It really wasn’t until I started to do poorly in running that I finally started to realize what that quote meant. When I had failed in a race in Cross Country it only motivated me to do better and learn from my mistakes. The same can be said in the workforce. The first thing that they mention that I completely agree with is to find a safe spot to have those failures. If you are in an environment where you do not feel comfortable in failing and trying to work around those failures, you will never actually learn from them. Only when you are in a comfortable environment can you make true mistakes and really learn from them. Because I still view myself as a novice in programming I feel as though I’m making mistakes all the time. The problem is though, is that when I am with my friends and classmates who I feel are superior than me, I feel more shy and unable to express that I am not understanding something and make mistakes. When I am at home or with my father, I feel a lot more comfortable and able to mistakes without any judgment. This can also go the other way in things that I do excel at. Finding areas and times that you are not doing well, will only help you get better. This pattern is also very similar to wearing the white belt in my opinion. When you are wearing the white belt, you are more open to making mistakes and being yourself. Each mistake that you make, will be a reminder for the next time that are about to make that mistake.

bottom of page