top of page

Practice Practice Practice


For this week’s blog post I thought I would do another one that relates a lot to me and what I worry about as someone in the Computer Science field. The title of this pattern is called ‘Practice, Practice, Practice’. This is something that is always in the back of my head when it comes to new languages and the field in general. I always want to practice and sharpen my skills. One thing that I really liked that they mentioned in this pattern is that they recommend developing software at times in a stress free environment. Where you are having fun and can also learn from your mistakes. When you don’t have due dates, no production issues and interruptions. I think this is extremely important to take note of especially has a get older and the workload gets larger and harder. When you are in a field such as this one, it can be extremely mentally draining. While it can be mentally draining, you don’t want to forget why you decided to major in this in the first place. If you are unhappy with what you are doing, you will never be happy. Taking some time to go back to what started your love for programming can help you calm your nerves and bring back the reasons why you loved it. I also love that they mentioned that practicing makes permanent. That was something I had never thought about before but is very true. If what you are practicing is not right, it can be hard to break from what you had been practicing. That’s why when I do want to practice my skills, I should be careful and make sure I am honing in on the right ideas. While it is important to practice, it is also important to choose what types of things you are practicing. Sometimes it can be hard to move from what you are used to and comfortable with but you will never get anywhere with staying complacent. When you start to gradually improve your skills, the better of an employee you will be

bottom of page