top of page

Sustainable Motivations


For this week’s blogpost I will be doing another Apprenticeship Pattern from Chapter 3 titled ‘Sustainable Motivations’. Like many of the previous patterns I have read about, this one will also help me when I am faced with the many difficulties of work and their ever changing environments. As I have begun to understand what exactly it is that my parents do, and view them more as just mere adults, I start to question more and more on how they deal with all of the troubles that go along with it. Especially my father who works for the government, always working on new projects with new people. He will come home many a times exhausted and unable to make a breakthrough on a specific project they are working on. I have realized through my dad, friends and this book that the programming that is usually fun you do not get paid for and the programming that is not fun are the ones that you do get paid for. What I feel is one of the main goals of this reading is to find the balance of doing what you love while also making sure that it does pay well enough for financial stability. One of the most important aspects though is doing what you love. I personally feel though, that can be easier said than done. Everyone has their ideal job in their concentration and I believe anyone is capable of getting that but it can take some time to get there. While I do agree that this can be really good advice, I also think that it is always hard for people to say “Do what you love and then rest will come after”. Especially for those who are are not in a stable financial situation, it is not always available for them to want to do what they love right away. As for someone like me who also has her own set of loans to pay off when she graduates, I would love to find what I love but I would also like to pay off my debt. I feel as though this is a common theme I seem to have with a lot of these patterns. I love them and I think they have a lot of good to say in them. They are extremely helpful in a number of ways, but I feel like sometimes they forget the reality of them and the wide range of people there are that exist.

bottom of page