top of page

Sprint-2


Compared to the last Sprint, this second Sprint was a lot of just setting up and getting ourselves familiar with the materials that we will be using for AMPATH. There were a couple of areas that all three of my team members and I worked on. These included Angular, Typescript, Protractor and Karma. Along with getting familiar with these topics, we were also sent five videos that had a walkthrough and information about what we will need to be doing for the future of this project.

The first part that I spent some time on was Karma. Karma is a tool that spawns a web server that executes source code against test code for each of the browsers connected. This is an easy way to help with developer see what browser tests passed and failed. (http://karma-runner.github.io/3.0/intro/how-it-works.html) After reading about how Karma works altogether, I started to read about the configuration. For Karma to work well with you and your project, it needs to know about the project so it test it. Thi is done by a configuration file. Along with figuring this out, i was able to read all the different kinds of configuration options. (https://karma-runner.github.io/3.0/config/configuration-file.html) The last portion that I read on the Karma website was about capturing browsers, which Karma can automate for you. (https://karma-runner.github.io/3.0/config/browsers.html) Lastly I watched a video that talked about Testacular, which was the original name of Karma. (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MVw8N3hTfCI) After reading about Karma, I figured out how to download it. That consisted of ‘npm install karma-jasmine karma-chrome-launcher jasmine-core --save-dev’ & to run it I did ‘./node_modules/karma/bin/karma start’.

The next tool I looked into was Protractor, which is a end-to-end test framework for AngularJS applications. This of course is super important since our whole project will be based off of Angular. It is a Node.js program that supports the Jasmine and Mocha test frameworks. After reading about how it worked, I did a tutorial to get myself more acquainted with the framework. Thi tutorial included how to install it, create test files, set up config files, and run tests. To download I typed ‘npm install -g protractor’ and ‘webdriver-manager update’ into the terminal. After downloading Protractor and going through the tutorial, I read about WebDriverJS, which is a library to ease the pain of working with a purely asynchronous API. (https://github.com/SeleniumHQ/selenium/wiki/WebDriverJs).

The last part I did was do some of the Tour of Heroes Angular Tutorial. The last time I worked with Angular was last Fall semester of 2017, so it has been a while since I have used it. I thought doing this tutorial would help out in the future. (https://angular.io/tutorial).

While these were the main components of what I did during this Sprint, I also did a lot of the same things that were done in the last Sprint. This consisted of doing the Daily Scrum and making sure that everyone else in the group does it. Everything that was explained was exactly what My team members had also done. Although we did not meet up as much as the last Sprint, we seemed to all be on the same page and made sure all of us were up to date on everything.

bottom of page